Resolution on the Cyprus Problem [En.]

11/25/12 11:00 PM
  • En

RESOLUTION on the Cyprus Problem

The participants of the 14th International Meeting of Communist and Workers Parties, which was held in November 2012 in Beirut, express their support for the ongoing struggle of the Cypriot people to find a just, under the circumstances, viable and functional solution to the Cyprus problem and declare the following:

  1. They express their disappointment at the current stalemate at the direct negotiations’ process, condemn the negative, non-constructive stance of Ankara and of the Turkish Cypriot leadership. At the same time, they underline the constant efforts by President Christofias at the negotiations table and his commitment in finding a solution to the Cyprus problem.
  2. They condemn the invasion and the continuing occupation of 37% of the territories of the Republic of Cyprus for 38 years by Turkey; they consider the current division of Cyprus as illegal, unacceptable and detrimental to the people of Cyprus as a whole.
  3. They declare that the Cyprus problem remains an international problem of illegal military intervention by Turkey and foreign interferences by imperialist forces such as NATO, of violation of core principles of international law, of the UN Charter, of basic principles of European law and of the human rights and civil liberties of its people.
  4. They strongly condemn the continuing efforts of Turkey to alter the demographic character of the island, through the influx of settlers from mainland Turkey, and the usurpation of land and properties in the areas which are not under the control of the Republic since the 1974 invasion, in violation of international humanitarian law.
  5. They reaffirm their support for the finding of a mutually acceptable, comprehensive solution based on the agreed framework of bicommunal, bizonal federation with a political equality as prescribed by the relevant UN Resolutions. A solution providing for the transformation of Cyprus into a federal state with a single sovereignty, single international personality and single citizenship; safeguarding the human rights and fundamental freedoms of all citizens, including the right of refugees to return to their homes and properties and the right of the families of all missing persons to be informed of the fate of their loved ones.
  6. They underline, that the solution must adhere to the relevant UN Resolutions, the High- Level Agreements between the leaders of the two communities of 1977 and 1979, the joint statements of the leaders of the two communities in Cyprus of 2008, and to the principles of International and European law.
  7. They emphasize the significance of working at the grassroots of society and of adopting even more initiatives that will enhance the rapprochement of the two communities, as well as the demilitarization of the island.
  8. They call upon Turkey to stop threatening the Republic of Cyprus, diffuse the tension it has caused in the region resulting from the exercise by the Republic of Cyprus of its sovereign right of investigations for natural resources within its Exclusive Economic Zone and adhere to the provisions and principles of international law and UNCLOS; it must also stop exploiting the occupied territory of the Republic of Cyprus in the northern part of the island which it retains illegally.
  9. They condemn Turkey’s approach towards the Presidency of the EU Council, during the presidency of the Republic of Cyprus, and urge it to amend its stance; they emphasize that respect towards all the member- states of the EU is a condition sine qua non for a country candidate for EU membership.
  10. They condemn the colonial role of Turkey and its oppressive attitude towards the Turkish Cypriot community; as well as its unacceptable, aggressive policies targeting in particular the progressive parts of the Turkish Cypriot community.
  11. They call on the international community as a whole, to exercise their influence on Turkey in order to abandon its current unacceptable policies towards Cyprus; It is urgent that Turkey proceeds immediately in taking concrete and real steps in order to reach a comprehensive solution as soon as possible; the perpetuation of the status quo is against the prospects of a solution.
  12. They express their conviction that in the absence of foreign interference the two communities can live together as they have done in the past and build a peaceful, common future in a united, bicommunal, bizonal and demilitarized federal Cyprus.

Parties undersigning the Resolution:

1- Parti Algérien pour la démocratie et le socialisme (PADS)

2- Democratic Progressive Tribune (Menbar) of Bahrain

3- Workers’ Party of Bangladesh

4- Communist Party of Belarus

5- Workers’ Party of Belgium (PTB)

6- Communist Party of Brazil (PC do B)

7- Communist Party of Britain

8- Communist Party of Canada

9- Socialist Workers’ Party of Croatia

10- Cuban Communist Party

11- AKEL- Cyprus

12- Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia

13- Communist Party in Denmark (KPID)

14- Communist Party of Denmark

15- Communist Party of Egypt

16- French Communist Party (PCF)

17- DKP- Germany

18- Communist Party of Greece (KKE)

19- Hungarian Communist Workers’ Party

20- Communist Party of India (Marxist)

21- Iraqi Communist Party

22- Workers’ Party of Ireland

23- Party of the Italian Communists

24- Party of the Refoundation Communist

25- Lebanese Communist Party

26- Communist Party of Mexico

27- Communist Party of Netherland

28- Palestinian People Party (PPP)

29- Communist Party of Norway

30- Palestinian Communist Party

31- Portuguese Communist Party

32- Communist Party of the Russian federation

33- Communist Workers Party of Russia - Revolution Party of Communists (RKRP-RPC)

34- Communist Party of Soviet Union

35- South African Communist Party

36- Communist Party of Spain

37- Communist Party of Cataluña

38- Communist Party of Sri Lanka

39- Sudanese Communist Party

40- Communist Party of Sweden (SKP)

41- Syrian Communist Party

42- Syrian Communist party (Unified)

43- Communist Party of USA (CPUSA)

44- Communist Party of Ukraine

45- The Union of Communists of Ukraine

46- New Communist Party of Yugoslavia